I am using Netware and ShowSize seems to be reporting inaccurate wasted space. Can I turn off the wasted space calculations?

January 30, 2008 (149)

in Known issues or problems

On NetWare volumes, regardless of the default cluster size, a feature called “Block Suballocation” can be enabled. This feature allows the NetWare file system to “reuse” the wasted cluster space by allowing other files to write to the “wasted” portions of existing clusters.

If you are using NetWare volumes all the time and don’t want wasted space reported at all, in ShowSize, you can remove the columns “Wasted Space” and “Size on Disk” by dragging them off the report or by using the “Columns” toolbar button.

Previous post: Want to reinstall ShowSize?

Next post: ShowSize shows me the wasted space in reports but I do not see how to delete all that wasted space?